Home Google Google in Private Mode

Google in Private Mode


The gigantic “miracle” is collecting a very large number of data from its users without asking for permission. But, you have to know that with the correct settings you could maintain you privacy.

Google thinks that all the data from its users represent a gold mine that needs to be explored with any price. Regarding the protection of the information, Google talks about the way they will use the collected data, which means: names, phone numbers and an extended browsing history. If you own an Android smartphone, you location will be always registered.

The majority of people would be shocked if they knew how much information Google has about their personal profiles that Google creates to “track” them. The utility of these profiles is quite limited for the regular user (he/she could obtain personalized search results and could use the same data to log on different Google services), but the benefit for advertising companies is enormous because it allows them to create ads that merge with the perfect market, so these companies become very profitable.

People choose to ignore the privacy of their data because they wouldn’t give up using Google services and the reason is simple: they know that this search engine is one of the best the market could offer.

The heart of information is your Google user account, no matter if you use a smartphone or if you use its services. In order to use Google’s services you need to create an account on Gmail, YouTube or you could use an Android device. The next section contains information on the settings and the “behavior” that makes the intimacy possible.

The first step involves limiting data collection anywhere where Google allows it. Easy tricks, such as using more profiles than one could lead to a complicated situation.

For those who don’t trust Google, they could download their personal data and then delete their account.

Limit the authorizations

Take advantage of everything Google allows you to do. Use your PC to log into accounts.google.com in order to follow the steps below.

  1. Deactivate the history of your account
  • Go to google.com/settings/accounthistory. Here you will find 4 sections. In the “Things you search for” section you can manage everything you googled. The same rules apply to “Your Searches On YouTube” and “Viewed Videos on YouTube”. The most “sinister” part is where you have to manage “locuri in are ati fost” because your Android smartphone tracks down every location you have been to and it saves in regularly in different Google servers.
  • All these 4 protocols can be blocked by clicking “Interrupt”. The “manage history” link allows you to view all the collected data and select the data you would like to delete (partially or completely).
  1. Delete Google+ if you are not using it
  • Whenever you are creating a new account, Google tries to “convince” you to use a Google+ account. If you own a Google+ account and you are not using it, we advise you to delete it because it could lead other people to view what clicked or what you have been sharing via Google+.
  • Access plus.google.com/downgrade/, check the option “Required: …” from the bottom side of the page and then click on “Eliminate services
  1. Check the authorization of your account
  • google.com/settings/security/permissions page displays all the Android devices and all the websites which have access to your Google account. By clicking the page above you will delete old phone numbers, websites and apps that you don’t need anymore, then click on the button you see on the right.
  1. Check your dashboard
  • Google.com/settings/dashboard page displays all the services you’ve used in the past and also your recent activity that have been registered in Google services. Be aware of the services you didn’t know you’re using. Behind all of this you will find settings, details and options which will allow you to deactivate them.
  1. Clean up Google
  • Google Chrome is a fast and modern browser and Google Drive could be very useful for your PC, but both softwares login to Google every time you turn on your PC and it communicates your IP address to Google.

By knowing your IP address, Google can track you down even if you’re using Firefox or IE to access different sites which contain ads or Google elements.

To avoid this happening, right click on one of the icons which appear on your Windows taskbar. When using Chrome deactivate ”Run Google Chrome in the background” option.

When using Google Drive click on “Settings | Advanced” and deactivate “When the computer is started…” option.

Secure your Android

1. Use more accounts

If you create a separate account you benefit more from your Android device, you will achieve a lot more privacy. You can still use Google Play, but this time the big G will not be able to identify you on all of your devices you use. I recommend you logout every time from Google applications – For example you can logout from the YouTube app via “Settings | Logout”.

2. Deactivate the monitoring

If your not navigating, click on “Settings | Location” to disable the monitoring feature of your location. For an alternative way, you can choose the following option: “Google location report” from the bottom of the page to deactivate the location monitor and the system which registers the history. Google Now function is connected with all the data sources available from your smartphone and it facilitates the notifications, which are in some way not useful. To deactivate Google Now go to “Google Settings”, under the “Search & Google Now” section.

3. Deactivate the ads and uploads

Navigate to “Google Settings”, click on “Advertisements” and check “Deactivate interest-oriented advertisements. You can also use the button below to reset your ID for the ads. To stop your smartphone from uploading diverse data (like your WLAN password) to Google, open up the Android settings, then “Secure & reset”. Uncheck “Secure my data”. As Google is well familiarized with your personal data, you should change your WLAN password, along side with other passwords which were stored on your device.

Verify other settings and if needed, delete your Google account

Google Dashboard offers lots of options to identify your data which are already on Google’s servers. For example there are listed your Picasa web albums and Google+ photos which you have direct access at picasaweb.google.com and plus.google.com/photos, if you at some point upload diverse pictures and other elements and you didn’t delete them.

Here you can find photos uploaded from your Android smartphone via “automatic storage”, which is activated automatically. At wallet.google.com you can find all your credit card data and other data regarding made payments.

With all the settings which were provided in this article you still don’t trust Google you can do the following: Go to google.com/settings/takeout, select the respective data and click “Next” and “Create archive” – this is for you to save all your data from your Google account. It can take a while, depending on your data size, but you’ll receive an email from them with all your data to download via email.

The link which will help you delete your Google account is found at accounts.google.com/b/0/EditServices?hl=en

Don’t forget, you will need a Google Play Store account for your Android. You will have to find another email account. But the best services Google has to offer like the search engine, Maps and YouTube – can be used freely without any restrains and without an account.